The Microsoft Dynamics CRM 4.0 Outlook client software, when installed on a terminal server (Microsoft or Citrix) results in the CRM toolbar (which is part of the CRM Outlook Add-in) appearing for all users of the server regardless of whether or not they require the functionality of CRM and irrespective of whether or not they have an account on the CRM system.
The CRM toolbar appears because the Outlook CRM Add-in is loaded, and the add-in is loaded because of the following registry key:
Removal of this key from the users’ registry stops the add-in appearing under Outlook and stops the add-in loading. There is though one problem with this. At the users login a program runs that recreates this key if it is missing, so that registry key needs to be removed as well. This one is:
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Current Version\run and the deletion of the MSCRM value (keeping a copy of the data in this value for later).
For all users logging into a computer running the CRM Outlook client would now only get the add-in if the first registry key above exists, so existing CRM users are not affected by this change. Remove the first registry key above from any user who does not use CRM and remove the second key one from the machine and all new users will not get CRM. To give new users the CRM Outlook add-in just run the command line that was the data of the MSCRM registry value (where x is the drive where the CRM software is installed):
x:\program files\microsoft dynamics
All the above works fine on a standard client, but if you need to do the above on a terminal server then you need to be aware of the shadow copy of the registry keys that terminal servers use to create the initial users profile the first time they login. Because the CRM client is initially installed with the CHANGE USER /INSTALL command active the registry stores a copy of the first registry key above so that it can be applied to users when their profile is created. This registry key needs to be removed as well. You will find this key at:
Note that you do not need to be in change user install mode when you make this change, as we are not uses these changes to affect existing user profiles, just stopping new user profiles from loading the CRM add-in if they do not need to. To change existing user profiles just delete the first registry key above from their profile using a script or manual action or whatever method you prefer. Of course you will need to have done the other steps above before this or the registry key will be recreated the next time they login.